January Mixtape

Our soundtrack to January:

Phoenix – Long Distance Call

From their third album It’s Never Been Like That, Long Distance Call is one of Phoenix’ best songs. It epitomizes their jangly, synth-riddled pop sound. A great song for midsummer.

Kasabian – Me Plus One

Me Plus One kicks into gear with an acoustic guitar keeping pace with a repetitive beat and evolves into an epic, far-reaching indie dance anthem. Yeah. Wrap your head around that.

I\’m From Barcelona – Music Killed Me

This is a great, spacey, deep track with a melancholic atmosphere that’s punctuated by ethereal choruses and soft piano breakdowns. I don’t know much else about this band, but I know that this song is well worth seeking out.

Aretha Franklin – Do Right Woman

What can you say, right? Classic.

Kaiser Chiefs – Boxing Champ

A lesser-known, slower, quieter Kaiser Chiefs song from their second album Yours Truly Angry Mob. A great story-song.

Dr. Dre – Let’s Get High

A guilty pleasure if ever there was one. A ridiculously explicit exploration of the various pleasures of the gangsta lifestyle. Great beat, great flow, stupid lyrics, dumb fun.

The Strokes – Red Light

This song features some of my favourite Strokes lyrics. I’d paste the entire song’s lyrics in here if I could. But I can’t. Because I say so. Here’s a sample:

Can’t you see the sky is not the limit no more?
I can see the elevator crash through the floor.
I can still see yesterday sailing away.
Seven billion people who have nothing to say.

The Strokes – Red Light (Live in Amsterdam)

DJ Bonez – Certified feat. Funkoars

One of my favourite Oz hip hop songs, featuring some of the best rappers in the country (the Funkoars).

Electric Six – Radio Ga Ga

One of the best covers out there. Better than the original. Yeah, I said it.

The Notorious B.I.G – Juicy

Classic. I’m not sure what I can really say about this song. It’s perfect.

Comments
2 Responses to “January Mixtape”
  1. John says:

    Nice one!

  2. julia says:

    Love the monthly mixtape

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

